Pittsburgh, PA – Cathedral of Learning (HDR)

This amazing building is the Cathedral of Learning located at the University of Pittsburgh.   It should be renamed the Cathedral of HDR!   You can catch great shots on the outside and inside!  This main hall is unreal!  I was just recently in Pittsburgh and went out shooting with my buddy Dave DiCello (HDR Exposed).  We grabbed quite a few shots  all over Pittsburgh.   I had been here last year, but felt I didn’t get the shots I really wanted.  Another reason why shooting the same location a few times is good idea!    You can get a different perspective and possible new camera angles.  Push your photography limits.

Whomever designed this place…kudos!   Very church-like and beautiful!!   Gotta love those pillars and ceiling.  This shot was up on the second floor overlooking the hall.  The wide angles captures the view nicely!   This basically was the only area we shot.  I wonder if any magical rooms for HDR’ing are located above?   Maybe one day I will find out!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 f/4
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 19.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/16
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Viveza, Color Efex Pro
  • News: Best IPhone/IPad App!! – The Photographers Ephemeris

    I recently have been using this app for my IPhone (can be used on IPad also) called The Photographers Ephemeris.  I cannot even pronounce Ephemeris…but it is awesome!   So I just call it TPE.  An ephemeris is a table of values that gives the positions of astronomical objects in the sky at a given time or times.

    If you are a nature/landscape photographer…this app is great!  The pic above is a general one, the app is just slightly different to fit on your phone.  A must have!!!  It will show you the direction of sunrise and sunset based upon your current location!  Sweet!!!   I use it to plan my shoot locations every time I head out!

    Here is info from their website:  The Photographer’s Ephemeris (TPE) is a tool to help with the planning of all types of outdoor photography, but particularly landscape and urban scenes. It is a map-centric sun and moon calculator: see how the light will fall on the land. TPE’s map-based approach means you are not limited to a predefined list of locations, which often don’t include the places many photographers go. Instead, search for any place name on the planet or position the map pin exactly where you want it. Advanced features including automatic time zone and elevation detection, correction for atmospheric refraction and height above the horizon, ensuring that you have the best possible information for planning your shoot.

    Ah technology!!!!  Enjoy!