News: Best IPhone/IPad App!! – The Photographers Ephemeris

I recently have been using this app for my IPhone (can be used on IPad also) called The Photographers Ephemeris.  I cannot even pronounce Ephemeris…but it is awesome!   So I just call it TPE.  An ephemeris is a table of values that gives the positions of astronomical objects in the sky at a given time or times.

If you are a nature/landscape photographer…this app is great!  The pic above is a general one, the app is just slightly different to fit on your phone.  A must have!!!  It will show you the direction of sunrise and sunset based upon your current location!  Sweet!!!   I use it to plan my shoot locations every time I head out!

Here is info from their website:  The Photographer’s Ephemeris (TPE) is a tool to help with the planning of all types of outdoor photography, but particularly landscape and urban scenes. It is a map-centric sun and moon calculator: see how the light will fall on the land. TPE’s map-based approach means you are not limited to a predefined list of locations, which often don’t include the places many photographers go. Instead, search for any place name on the planet or position the map pin exactly where you want it. Advanced features including automatic time zone and elevation detection, correction for atmospheric refraction and height above the horizon, ensuring that you have the best possible information for planning your shoot.

Ah technology!!!!  Enjoy!

2 comments on “News: Best IPhone/IPad App!! – The Photographers Ephemeris

  1. exileimaging says:

    As a ‘map guy’ (I am a geographer, you know), this really appeals to me. Sadly, I’m also a curmudgeon, and don’t own a cell phone of any type! But it’s a great idea. I’ve used similar software on my PC to plan photo shoots. I may now have to reevaluate my ‘curmudgeon’ stance on mobile devices. Thanks for posting this, Pete.

Leave a Reply

