Yorba Linda, CA – YLHS Football vs. Cypress (HDR)


This past Friday nite the Yorba Linda Mustangs football team beat up on Cypress. A great game! Thanks to the Booster Club President for allowing me access to shoot atop the press box! It was a chilly nite and the view was perfect! As I arrived I knew the sun was setting early. Game time was 7 PM. I set up around 6:15 and decided to try something a bit different. I wanted a game action shot with a cool sky. 7 PM kickoff would miss the sunset. This what I decided to try…

I set my camera on a tripod and noted all settings/placement in order to keep them the same throughout.
1) 6:30 PM: Took 7 exposures of the field and sky (+3 to -3). f/22 to get the flare in the lights…also to get longer exposure times. The band was playing on the field, but I knew they would not be in the final pic.
2) 8:00 PM: Took a single shot of on the field action during the game. Shot in manual

In photoshop I combined the two shots..lined them up and masked out the field without the game action. Touched it up and thats it! Worked easily!!! I added Tonal Contrast on the field action to give it an HDR like look.

Congrats Mustangs!!! Enjoy the photo!

Leave a Reply

