Austin, Texas – Tips Iron & Steel (HDR)


While checking out a new cool location for portraits one day I was walking around the Amtrak Station/Union Pacific Railroad in Austin. It is located near Baylor and 5th Avenue. Train Tracks, old buildings, graffiti, Broken windows = a great spot for HDR’s. While walking and taking pics their is this big building with lots of metal works inside. I was looking over the fence and was salivating at the opportunity to go inside and take some HDR’s! I walked around and went in talked to the owners. They noted that tons of photographers want to come in and take pics…even people want to shoot moves inside as well. We worked out and agreement and they granted permission for me to shoot. It is private property. Eagerly I walked inside and had one of those step back take it all in and say to yourself…”this is HDR gold!!”. Everywhere you look an HDR was waiting to be taken. I shot for about 2 hours and thanked the owners for the opportunity! What a super cool place!!!! Austin has so many great photographic locations…this is def in the top of the list! It is tough to find info on Tips Iron and Steel on the web. On another post soon…I will talk to the owners and get some details. Looks like they do some great work!!

Talke Photography Settings:
Lens: Nikon 12-14 f/4.0
Setting: Aperture Mode
Focal Length: 18.0 mm
ISO: 200
Exposure: HDR 9 Exposures (+4 to -4)
Aperture: f/11
Gear: Tripod
Post Process: Adobe CS5, HDR Efex Pro, Color Efex Pro, OnOne Software Photo Tools 2.6

5 comments on “Austin, Texas – Tips Iron & Steel (HDR)

  1. Fabulous shot – and yes, amazing location!

  2. A.Barlow says:

    Some cool looking HDR here man. Nice how it all pops.

  3. theaterwiz says:

    LOL Pete, you crack me up, you flashed the Nikon shirt didn’t you…HDR Heaven…and you didn’t even invite the East Coast Chapter

  4. Hola, I worked at this place for 24 years and 6 months. I went by there about one year ago. I still have a lot of memories of what went on there. I was in my twenties and now I am going on 68. Thanks for the photo, Cat

Leave a Reply

