Mineral Wells, TX – Baker Hotel (HDR)


On Saturday/Sunday Scott Kelby held his annual Worldwide Photo Walk. I decided to take the drive up North to Mineral Wells, TX. The group leader Maureen set it up at the Baker Hotel! This was on my “Must Visit” lists for Texas! Maureen had received approval for us to photograph the grounds. We could not go inside as the interior is falling apart and very dangerous. We arrived at 8 AM and were able to shoot until 9:30 AM on the grounds. Our turnout was wonderful. We all had a great time. It is always so nice to meet all the walkers and sometimes you get to say hello to acquaintances! It makes the walk that much more enjoyable!

My sad story was that as soon as we arrived on grounds, my D300 mirror locked up and would not release! Ugh! I did get a few HDR’s beforehand, but none up close to the hotel, due to my camera issues. Oh well…luckily I had my converted Infrared camera and I also brought along my Canon Film Camera! I was able to continue the walk! I grabbed quite a few IR shots…film shots will come later!

It is such a cool location…but watched very closely by the law. I would suggest if you ever plan to visit, please get the proper approval. I’d like to try and see if I can go back during a dreary winter day! It would be spooky and awesome!! I’ll post a few shots this week. Enjoy!

Talke Photography Settings:
Lens: Nikon 12-14 f/4.0
Setting: Aperture Mode
Focal Length: 812.0 mm
ISO: 200
Exposure: HDR 7 Exposures (+3 to -3)
Aperture: f/11
Gear: Tripod
Post Process: Adobe CS5, HDR Efex Pro, Color Efex Pro, OnOne Software Photo Tools 2.6

11 comments on “Mineral Wells, TX – Baker Hotel (HDR)

  1. Maureen says:

    Love this shot!! We had a great time and I promise I did have the proper approval. Apparently they did not follow through on their end and notify the police department we would be there. I did find out from a friend the next day that an interior design class from TCU was allowed inside a couple of weeks ago. So I am going to do my best to find out how and see if we can also.

    • Maureen, I knew you did! I had a wonderful time!! They got inside?? Wow! Let me know if you get approval and I will take the drive up! I’d love to go back!!! My camera is back working now…whew! Have fun!!!

      • Maureen says:

        I’ll be like a dog with a bone. I will follow up and find out how they got in. If I get it to happen I will let everyone in the group in on it. Maybe we’ll get lucky and it will be a dreary, cloudy day! I’m glad you got your camera working!

  2. atmtx says:

    Love the effect. It looks like a painting on ceramic.

  3. A.Barlow says:

    Dude bummer man 😦

    This is a nice shot, love the detail.

  4. Marenda says:

    What group is this? How can I join?

  5. My Daughter Debbi was on that walk and got a shot very similar to this one. Her shot like this may appear one day on a CD album.
    I believe she was on this same exact walk. She was able to get on the grounds before the Police came along and made everyone leave. Some, she said, never made it over the wall before the police made them all leave the grounds.
    She said someone with her on the walk was going to give her some photography tips, but then their camera developed a problem. Perhaps that was you….

    • Paul, hello!! Yes, that was me!! I was there when the fuzz arrived! LOL As soon as I got onsite…my mirror locked and I could not shoot. Luckily I had my IR camera as well. I then shot in IR. =)) Hope Debbi grabbed some great shots! That was a fun day!!

  6. Wanda says:

    WOULD LOVE TO GO BACK IN……PROBABLY WOULD TEAR UP….WHEN GIVING TOURS FOR SEVERAL YEARS, THE GUIDES KEPT IT UP INSIDE AND THERE WAS LITTLE DAMAGE. NOW THERE ARE BROKEN WINDOWS EVERYWHERE. OUR TOURS WERE ORGANIZED, ORDERLY, AND SAFE. WE KEPT THE CARPETS IN THE LOBBY VACUMED AND THE FLOORS CLEANED. MOST TOURS WERE AT LEAST FOUR HOURS LONG. SUCH A BEAUTIFUL BUILDING THAT IS BEING LET TO GO TO RUIN.

Leave a Reply

