Orlando, Florida – Egret

I just returned from Orlando and had a late afternoon free and decided to see how the birding shots would be at my favorite place in Orlando…Gatorland!    It is nearly mating season and the Egrets are gathering.  Already this day I saw one mother with eggs!  Wonderful!  You can get so close to the birds.  If you want to try your hand at birding photos…this is the place to go from Feb-April!   I do not have super skills in birding…but I try my best!   I shot the above pic hand held.  I can imagine a monopd or a tripod might be better.   I hope to be back here in April with more gear in tow!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 70-200 f/2.8 + Nikon TC-14EII (1.4x Teleconverter)
  • Setting: Manual Mode
  • Focal Length: 200.0 mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  1/320 second
  • Aperture:  f/11
  • Gear:  Hand held
  • Post Process: Adobe CS5, Photo Tools 2.6
Leave a Reply

