Austin, Texas – Buffalo Billiards (HDR)

Through time our photo styles change.  We like to try different methods and looks.  I usually do not shoot the grungy urban style, but very much enjoy these shots.   I was watching the Photovision DVD #184 and the portrait photographer Travis Gugelman had a family doing an urban session downtown at Buffalo Billiards in Austin.   Not indoor or out front…in the back alley!   I loved the shots!  I had to take lunch yesterday to scope it out!  Not only for a future portrait session of my own, but also it looked like a great spot for an HDR.

I shot the urban style and it was just about noon and the sun was bright.  I took the HDR anyway just to see how the overall look would be and if I should take it again on a cloudy day or near dusk time.  I processed it and enjoyed it! Some of the noon-ish shadows were cool.  So an urban HDR during the day!  I can bet a normal HDR with the right conditions will be great…so look for it soon!  But in the meantime…something a little different.  Enjoy!  See my notes below…9 exposures on this HDR!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 f/4.0
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 15.0 mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 9 exposures (+4 to -4)
  • Aperture:  f/11
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS5, HDR Efex Pro, Viveza, Photo Tools 2.6

 

 

6 comments on “Austin, Texas – Buffalo Billiards (HDR)

  1. Jim Nix says:

    Looks good Pete, great processing!! Jim

  2. michaeltuuk says:

    Turned out great, Pete

  3. Mike Connell says:

    Lot of texture and detail! That is a really cool doorway. Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

  4. […] I love the back door to Buffalo Billiards.   I did an HDR of this door here a few weeks ago…Buffalo Billiards.  We stopped by for a few shots…this one I’ll call […]

Leave a Reply

