Austin, Texas – Hamilton Pool (HDR)

It has been near freezing here in Texas for a few days in a row.  So I decided to head out to Hamilton Pool to catch a few icicles yesterday during lunch.    The waterfall is barely a waterfall, but as I walked up I saw the ice hanging from the cave wall above.  As it is winter and wide angle shot is nothing special….trees are bare, everything just looks brown.  Although the pool was super blue!!   I decided a close up shot would have to be the photo of choice.   It was warming up a bit and you can see some drips fro the icicles.  I thought I heard today that there was snow in 49 out of 50 states as of yesterday.   I assume the 50th without snow is Hawaii??  A fun winter indeed!   When will it be over??  Stay warm!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 70-200 f/2.8
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 200.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/8
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS5, HDR Efex Pro, onOne PhotoTools 2.6
9 comments on “Austin, Texas – Hamilton Pool (HDR)

  1. Love it–and I wish I’d thought to go out to Hamilton. Just beautiful.

  2. Mary, it was quiet and lovely! Next cold spell or snow and I will surely head back!! =)

  3. great shot, I would never have thought icicles would be at Hamilton’s pool. -Kim

  4. mnguyen811 says:

    The only state without snow was Florida! Hawaii got snow on the volcano tops!

  5. exileimaging says:

    Cool shot, no pun intended! Haven’t been out to Hamilton Pool in a year, so guess it’s about time to try it again. Oh, the state without snow was Florida. Hawaii has snow on the big volcanoes (Mauna Kea or Mauna Loa).

  6. Nope…the 50th state is Florida! I live in Maui. There is almost always snow atop Mauna Loa and Mauna Kea on the Big Island in the winter…

Leave a Reply

