Boulder, CO – Boulder Canyon Road (HDR)

Sometimes I wish I lived in Colorado for photographic reasons. This is one of the most beautiful states in the US!  I luckily get to travel to Boulder often and earlier this summer before my meetings, I woke up early to take a drive outta town down Boulder Canyon Road.  It was my first drive ever down this route.  About 10-15 minutes down Boulder Canyon Road is Boulder Falls.   While driving this river hugs the road and the views are unreal!!  I loved this shot and pulled over immediately.  I dodged the AM traffic to cross the street and set up my tripod while making sure I did not get run over!   You can see the sun just about to rise in the distance.

There seems to be so many photo ops in the amazing state!  What would be the top 10 locations to photograph is CO??  Hmmmm.  If anyone lives there…post some comments below!  I am looking forward to my next visit in Feb…hope to see some snow!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 F/4
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 12.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/22
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS5, Photomatix, Color Efex Pro, Viveza
8 comments on “Boulder, CO – Boulder Canyon Road (HDR)

  1. Steve Beal says:

    Great shot! I usually see Colorado in the winter for skiing, actually going in Feb. and can’t wait!!! I agree, it’s a beautiful state.

  2. theaterwiz says:

    Nice one Pete, and your portrait work looks great, just had a peek! Cheers

  3. Wayne Frost says:

    I really like the green trees against the blue water and gray rocks. Have you driving I-70 through Colorado which parallels the Colorado River for part of the route?

  4. elizabeth says:

    Wow this photo is awesome, I have never tried HDR but will be soon, as I’m in my 3rd year at uni and we have to experiment to get good marks!
    Really love the effect it has in this photograph, beautiful.

Leave a Reply

