The Bubble That Got Away!

Hope everyone had a wonderful holiday!!  During the past week…any of us photographers took tons of family shots!    We were playing out back in the yard with our new puppy.  She is a Yorkie-Poo and is about 6 months old.  Like any little one they love to play.  My daughter had her new bubble maker from Santa and was letting bubbles fly through the air.  The pup was having a ball chasing them!   I went in and grabbed my 70-200 lens and snapped away.  I put it on Shutter priority and got a few solid shots…fun for memories.

I was lucky with this one…and when I saw it in photoshop, I wanted to make it a bit more artistic.   It does look like a painting…so here were my steps in creating this shot…

In Photoshop CS5…

Color Efex Pro – Tonal Contrast, Viveza and then added a texture in Bridge.  It was cool…then I thought why not try the Plug-In called “Pixel Bender” (its free on Adobe).  I knew it could make photos into painting like shots.  I saw a clip about this on Scott Kelby’s “Photoshop User TV” …a few weeks ago.   I downloaded it here…Pixel Bender.   And used the “Oil Painting” option.  I moved the sliders around a bit and after all my processing..the shot is above.  Very cool!

Now I have tried the Pixel Bender since on a few photos.  I think it works great when there are trees & flowers in the shot!   I will keep trying every once in a while…maybe you will see another Pixel Bender shot soon!  Ah…Plug-Ins are great!! You can create great art!   Have a wonderful week back to work, school or whatever!

9 comments on “The Bubble That Got Away!

  1. He looks so fierce painted/photographed this way.

    Nice edits.

    D

  2. Wayne Frost says:

    Very cool, and thanks for the tip about Pixel Bender.

  3. Thanks for the posting on using pixel bender! I was not aware of that plug-in. Just tried downloading it for CS4. Not seeing anything show up in File/Automate, or Filters. I checked Photoshop 32-bit and 64-bit. When I try downloading the 64-bit file, it says I “don’t have permission”. Can you help?

    • Dawn, I had tried on my CS4…. I had no luck either. Only works on CS5. I think u may have to have the super CS4 to make it work? Did u google it? Pete

      • I do have CS4 Extended. Adobe has a link to download to CS4, which I did. I tried to open the link to download the 64-bit version, but it won’t let me access it. I suppose I should contact Adobe?

        Thanks so much!

        Dawn

  4. atmtx says:

    This is very neat, Pete. A really fun image turned artistic with photoshop.

  5. Dawn, hiya! I googled the usage of PB with CS4..seems to be problematic. Call Adobe and see if it can be done. Good luck!! For my photos I have to decrease the size…as the GPU is a heavy process for the computer. So if you don’t get it to work once it is installed…decrease your photo size and it should work! =) Pete

  6. Victoria says:

    I’m definitely going to have to visit here more often… I like that you shared the information about creation of this marvelous image… it would be fun to see the original before any post-processing for comparison. I’m basically lazy and rarely do anything beyond cropping and a bit of exposure adjustment (or MAYBE a bit of adjustment to get more highly saturated colors) to any of my images. (Of course, I also haven’t figured out how to do a lot of the PP tricks others use which is why I appreciate that you shared your steps!)

Leave a Reply

