Caldwell, Texas – Train Tracks to Nowhere (HDR)

A few weeks ago we drove about 5 hours in the middle of Texas to buy a little puppy for my little one.   On the way there we took the standard route through Houston following the main roads.  On the way back we decided to see a little more of our great state and took an alternate route!   It was a pretty drive. Lots of farms and small little Texas towns. As the puppy was young we had to stop in the middle of the drive for a bathroom break.  While looking for a location, I saw this bridge next to the road.   I put the title above as Caldwell, Texas….but I am not really sure if that is correct.    If anyone knows different, please let me know!   We were driving on Route 21 back to Austin.

I have always wanted a train track shot…and finally it has arrived!   This rusty bridge was perfect for HDR!  I always enjoy the low point of view on train track shots…so I set the tripod up only about 1 foot off the ground and snapped away.   I have a few more shots from here I will post again one day!  Ya gotta love shots that occur just from pulling of the road!   Thanks Caldwell, Texas or wherever this may be!  I guess if I had geo-tagging on my camera I would know exactly where this was.  Oh well!   Another gadget to put on the list!   Have a great weekend!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 F/4
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 13.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/16
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, HDR Efex Pro, Color Efex Pro, Viveza

 

 

 

7 comments on “Caldwell, Texas – Train Tracks to Nowhere (HDR)

  1. tomazsp says:

    Wonderful picture Peter! That’s why I am a huge fan of yours…visit me and comment please!

  2. chriscaff says:

    A fab graphic image. Beautifully framed, wonderful colours and great perspective.

  3. Wayne Frost says:

    I really like the strong lines and the texture in this shot, Pete. The colors also work well together. I think I am becoming a fan of your bridge photography. It is never a bad idea to take the less traveled route, as you demonstrate today.

  4. Brianna says:

    I guess you could say I’m quite a new fan, seeing as I found your work today on Flickr while looking for shots of San Antonio at Christmastime (quite the sight!)
    I have a suggestion, for shots, it’s a place I’ve been going to for years, Baylor University at Waco, Texas (perhaps you’ve heard of it:). Beautiful place, especially in the Summertime.
    If you haven’t, please go and check it out! I’ve been waiting for some quality Baylor shots for my friends at school to see. They wonder endlessly why I talk endlessly about the place..It’s GORGEOUS!
    -Brianna (13yo)

  5. Victoria says:

    Another one… down low is perfect for this image… a dizzying perspective!

  6. Brittany says:

    Im from Caldwell texas and that bridge is inbetween Caldwell and Bryan texas. Its right outside of mumford texas. And that is a really great shot. Nice work!

  7. aswirly says:

    These train track shot is really quite incredible, although I would be FREAKED OUT that a train would come. WOuldn’t you be stuck then? eeeek

Leave a Reply

