Austin, Texas – Mayfield Park – Peacock

We have a few cute little parks in Austin, Texas.  This one is called Mayfield Park.  Here you can find some small ponds with water lilies and lots of dragonflies.  What this park is famous for are the 20 or so peacocks that live here!  I took a morning off recently and drove up to the park.  It was my first visit.  I was amazed to see so many peacocks all over!  In trees, walking around, sleeping in the grass!  I only noticed 1 or 2 with feathers and I asked a worker and he told me it was offseason as they lose there feathers at this time.  I had hoped to catch a peacock with its feathers spread wide and proud.  No luck.  My only choice was close up shots.  These dudes are used to people….it was pretty easy.  I added a little Fractalius to this guy for a cool effect!

I checked the website and found this info…I’ll head back in late February!

  • Winter – The long tail feathers grow out on the adult males.
  • Late winter/Spring – The peacocks start fanning their tails to court the females. This starts around February and continued throughout the spring.
  • Spring – Peahens will sit on their nest of eggs.
  • Late Spring/early summer – The peachicks hatch.
  • Summer – The peacocks loose their long tail feathers (July/early August)


3 comments on “Austin, Texas – Mayfield Park – Peacock

  1. This is “Amazing!” You have a neat blog…great work!

  2. I bet he gets all the girls. 🙂

  3. aswirly says:

    Pretty fractalicious if I do say so myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

