Las Vegas, Nevada – The Venetian Hotel (HDR)

From the fun and party filled Las Vegas…here is an HDR of the Venetian Hotel on the Las Vegas Strip! Las Vegas is a paradise for adults that like to get away and have fun…but it should also be noted as a key spot for HDR photography!  I must admit, there is probably an HDR every step you take in Vegas!  Colors, Lights, Hotels…its all there to photograph.  The big issue is people.  We just came back from a 3 day visit and it was the peak of summer holidays!  My only option is early morning photo time!   This shot was my target.  I had been to the Venetian and knew it was perfect for HDR.  I set my alarm this Saturday for 4:30 AM.   I awoke and looked outside…wow!  The streets were packed and filled with people…time to go back to bed!  I gave myself another hour of sleep and was up now at 5:30 AM.  The sun was coming up and I figured all the party people will be passed out or asleep at this time!  I looked outside and it was getting quiet.  I jumped in a cab and hit the Venetian.  I asked the cabbie was is the quietest time in Vegas….he said 8 AM.  …although I thought 6 AM was not bad!

This location at the Venetian is located right next to the registration.  Here you can find this amazing hallway and meeting area you can see ahead with a beautiful fountain. All just waiting for HDR photographers!!  LOL  I had to people dodge many times, but it wasn’t too bad.  Some exposures were long and any people involved…just disappeared!   I shot the hotel for about 90 minutes and made my walk back down the strip.  I post a few more shots from here soon.  I’d say any shot here was a great one.  If you have been here and photographed it…you know well!   Viva Las Venetian!!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 f/4
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 14.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/16
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Viveza, Color Efex Pro
  • Advertisements

    8 comments on “Las Vegas, Nevada – The Venetian Hotel (HDR)

    1. Gotta give it to you for persistence, Pete, and it paid off. Fantastic HDR. (And you’re correct, there’s a lot of great photo ops in Vegas (if it wasn’t for the crowds)).

    2. Mike Criss says:

      Nicely done, glad you explained about the people because I was going to ask.

    3. Evan Gearing says:

      I really like this post Pete, but one thing I’m concerned about is that it seems to be a tad gold or yellow in color. I understand that the Venetian lends itself to that color with the decor, but this seems a little skewed in that direction. Otherwise, I think it is a great shot!

    4. very nice. I will keep in mind the 8:00 am shoot time next time I am in Vegas.

    5. aswirly says:

      Your dedication paid off. I was wondering how you were able to get such a great shot with no people in it. Very cool!!

    Leave a Reply

    