Northfield, Ohio – Brandywine Falls (HDR)

I was in Cleveland recently and was in my hotel room.  I always check out the “City Guide” Magazine for scouting shots or locations.  I came across this photo of a waterfall located in Cuyahoga Valley National Park.  It is called Brandywine Falls.  I had no idea where this place was.  The next day I had to make my way to Pittsburgh, PA.  I checked a map and it was only 10 minutes off my designated roads on the way to the Burgh!  I had to stop by!    I found it easily. Parked and took the 5 minute walk to the falls.  Wow!  They had upper and lower viewing platforms.  The lower was the best.  I’ll post a few more shots soon.  But I really liked this one.  The sun was shinning through the trees and the fisheye was able to grab the tress over my head in the picture!  A cool effect!!  A great little stop…glad I found it!  In 20 minutes I was back on the road!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 10.5 Fisheye f/2.8
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 10.5 mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/22
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Viveza
4 comments on “Northfield, Ohio – Brandywine Falls (HDR)

  1. exileimaging says:

    Wonderful shot, Pete! And I love the fisheye effect. Reminds me of some of the waterfalls I saw last year in Tennessee.

  2. vincent wilson says:

    Beautiful photo! I grew up a few miles from here and happily moved to California many years ago. I go back every 10 years or so and always visit the park. The whole area is wonderful in the summer, highly recommended to anyone with the misfortune of having to visit Cleveland.

  3. John Guild says:

    Oh my, you really must learn to use your camera. Start with focus.

Leave a Reply

