Austin, Texas – 360 Bridge (HDR)

We have had a cool summer this year in Texas..compared to last year!   Storms have been more prevalent.  The week before we were to have on and off rain throughout the day.  When I hear that I think that maybe the clouds will break and great sunset will appear?   About 7 PM it was looking good.  I live about 25 minutes from this location.   It is the famous Route 360 Bridge.   Just about every photographer has shot it…except me until this day!   I took a drive and parked.  You walk up a small steep trail to a rock that over looks the bridge.  It fairly large (about 40 feet square).  So setting up for a tripod is no problem.  As I arrived a few people were hanging out waiting for the sunset.  One couple was even taking portraits up there!  Not a ton of angles up there…but you can get a great shot of the bridge and trail lights as the sun goes down.   I the sun was setting to the right and as it went down the stormy clouds were lit up in red!  Sweet.  I expanded my wide angle to get more of the clouds.  Now I can say been there done that for this shot!   I did a “360” and went back down he trail!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 f/4
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 17.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/22
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Viveza
  • Advertisements

    3 comments on “Austin, Texas – 360 Bridge (HDR)

    1. […] More here: Austin, Texas – 360 Bridge (HDR) « Places 2 Explore […]

    2. aswirly says:

      The sky rocks. I love the smoothness of the water too.

    Leave a Reply

    