Austin, Texas – Capitol Building (HDR)

Just one more shot from our Scott Kelby Photo Walk 2010 – downtown Austin walk.  This is the traditional shot everyone must take when visiting Austin.  Its quite tricky in HDR.  It all depends on the time of day and available light.  I finally got a solid one after many attempts.  Nice and bright!  I only shot 8 HDR’s on the walk…this was my favorite.  I used a fisheye to capture as much as the interior section of the dome.   Check out those stairs way up there!  I had no idea they were there!  Wish we can have photo walks all the time!  Shooting with fellow photographers is wonderful!  Enjoy!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 10.5 Fisheye f/2.8
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 10.5 mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/3.5
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Viveza
5 comments on “Austin, Texas – Capitol Building (HDR)

  1. I especially like this one. It avoids that unreal, surreal, disreal acid-trip look that HDR photos are prone to have–an effect that tends to make them all look really similar. This shot demonstrates how The Power of HDR can be used for Good. Fine shot.

    And I’d guess that you don’t need to wait for Scott Kelby to declare the date. With your readership, you could probably just call your own Photo Walk anytime you liked.

  2. backlitpxl says:

    Thats a beautiful shot!

  3. David Latour says:

    I am seriously considering coming to Austin next year for your photowalk. I would love to walk around The University of Texas. I live in East Tennessee and have admired your work for sometime now. It would be something new for me.

    • David, wonderful! Come on down!! I’m gonna try to get us into the UT Football Stadium (depends how their sked works with ours). It will be great to shoot with you! Pete

Leave a Reply

