Colorado Springs, CO – Red Rocks

This shot is from Colorado Springs, CO – The Red Rocks.  It was a fun day as I had my co-worker from Japan with me traveling and we arrived into Denver early afternoon.  I wanted to hit Pikes Peak and head up to the top of the mountain that afternoon!  We took the drive south and if I can recall it was bout 2 hours?  We arrived and I called my wife to ask for hours of operation.  She called back and said we only had 10 minutes til the last tram went up!  Oh no…we were about 10 minutes away…but road construction was all over.  We missed the tram by 5 minutes and were bummed.  We grabbed a few shots and then visited Seven Falls…after wards we were driving and we saw the famous Red Rocks!  We pulled over and grabbed this shot!   We didnt stay long as we had to head back to downtown Denver, but the Red Rocks is a place I need to explore further!!  One day!

The shot above was taken before my enjoyment of HDR began.  But with technology these days…I added a little Topaz Adjust and Color Efex Pro Tonal Contrast and you have an HDR-like shot!  Cool!  I’ll get to Pikes Peak and a detailed visit of the Red Rocks one day!!   Until then!!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 18-200 f/3.5-5.6
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 120.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  1/60 second
  • Aperture:  f/8
  • Gear:  Hand Held
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Topaz Adjust 4, Color Efex Pro
  • Advertisements

    4 comments on “Colorado Springs, CO – Red Rocks

    1. If you want red rocks, Pete, Bryce Canyon would be the place for you ;-).

    Leave a Reply

    