Orlando, FL – Gatorland (HDR)

This hungry guy is from Gatorland in Orlando, FL.  I am a big fan of Gatorland.   A small park near Disney…if you are in town on holiday…its a great place to visit.  Lots of critters to see and these big gators!  This dude was waiting for lunch…good thing I had a big lens, so it wasn’t me!

We lived about 30 minutes north of Orlando for a few years.  Florida is a wonderful state…but we learned quickly if there is a lake with water..chances of a gator in it are good.  When we first moved there about 2004 we had a small lake in the backyard.  Probably 25 houses surrounded it (decent size).  We asked the agent, “There are no gators in here”..he kindly noted “No, this is a gated community”.   Then about 2 months after we were in…I was eating my breakfast and the lake was nice and calm.  I saw something floating.  Looked twice…and yep a gator in our backyard!!  He wasn’t too big luckily…about 4 feet.  But hey..any size is too big for me!  I grabbed a tennis ball and did my best Nolan Ryan and missed him (just a bit outside).  He turned and watched me for the next 10 minutes.  I got bored that he was not showing any aggression.  Probably afraid of me.  LOL  In FLA if I can recall, an alligator below 6 ft must be left alone if not causing any problems.   So I called anyway as our daughter was just a baby…and a gator in the backyard is not welcome!  Never saw him again after that day!  Whew!

I have quite a few gator stories.  I am sure anyone that lives in FLA does!  If you ever see one and he chases you…just remember to run diagonally!!  Their small legs cannot make quick turns!  C Ya Later Gator!!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 70-200 f/2.8 VR + Nikon TC-14EII (1.4x Teleconverter)
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 280.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  1/160 – Single RAW HDR  (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/10
  • Gear:  Hand Held
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Viveza
4 comments on “Orlando, FL – Gatorland (HDR)

  1. Hello !
    I am new to wordpress and was browsing tags and came across your blogs, great work – an inspiration to motivate me!
    I am going to read your blog from top to bottom and enjoy all your photos.
    Greg

  2. aswirly says:

    A gator in your backyard. Wow, what a story. I used to handle a gator when I worked at the zoo. Ok ok, it was small, about 3 feet, but could still take my fingers if I wasn’t careful. When he got too large we sent him to a sanctuary in…you guessed it, Florida! ha! Love this. Love all the detail you can see in it’s skin. Very cool.

  3. The HDR process really brings out his skin textures. The most gators I saw in Florida was during the tour of the Kennedy Space Center. Lots of them out sunning themselves. Wonder what they think when a shuttle goes up?

    • Scott, aren’t the water ways near the Space Center great! We stopped one time to take a pic of a gator and he got pissed! We ran away! he was about an 8-9 footer…yikes! LOL Pete

Leave a Reply

