Porto, Portugal – Night in Porto

Porto at night is beautiful!!  I love this little old city.  This day I walked around for hours taking HDR’s and as the darkness arrived, I wanted to take a standard night shot from the mountain side.   The D300 can take decent night shots…but I wish I had a D3 or better for low light situations…ah to dream one day!    As the sun was setting I was walking up these roads towards to the top of the hill. Row houses everywhere.  Luckily there was a small walkway near the edge to catch a river/city view.  From the walkway you can take steps lower each level to more houses.  So I know I was not in great safe territory.   A dude with a camera bag and tripod in the dark with some odd people walking around…any photographer has been there.  So you have to stand confidently and prepare to use your tripod as a weapon if necessary!   I snapped away while keeping my third eye on my surroundings.  I grabbed my shots and made it out safely and called it a day!    The shot was worth the worries!  I look forward to heading back to Porto again this year…this time it will just be shots of wineries!!  Much safer!!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 18-200 f/3.5-5.6
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 56.0mm
  • ISO: 400
  • Exposure:  1 second
  • Aperture:  f/4.8
  • Gear:  Tripod, Cable release
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4
  • Advertisements

    8 comments on “Porto, Portugal – Night in Porto

    1. DJ Schulte says:

      Wonderful night city image. And more wonderful because Porto gave the world Port; which we always have a bottle on hand.

    2. I love to read the backstory–especially of such a lovely photo. It’s good to know that it’s not just female photographers who can get a little nervous when the sun has set and you know you’re in a sketchy area, but…”if I can get just one more shot…”

      I agree it was worth the worry, and am glad you have your third eye looking out for you.

      • Mary, hello! Thanks! Yeah and I am a big guy 6’1″ and about 215 lbs…one person no problem…but its the groups I worry about. Especially with my gear! So always be safe. I remember one time in SF I was shooting a pier at about 10:30 PM…quiet and cold..thought I was all by myself. The some lady out of the blue comes up taps me on the shoulder as I was looking through my viewfinder and asked what kinda of camera I had. That was my lesson learned for night photography. Whew! Made me jump! LOL So now I am always checking out the scene!!!

    3. Michael Tuuk says:

      Very nice, Pete!

    4. And they say the 18-200VR is not a good lens. It’s my favorite and will be missed when I move on to an FX camera. Hoping Nikon comes through with the rumored 28-300VR for FX. I enjoy traveling daily with you, Pete.

      • Scott, I am with ya!! 18-200 on the DX is tough to beat!! I hope to move up when the D800 (or whatever they call it comes out)…yes, they need a nice all around lens for the FX bodies. My travels are fun…you should see my summer sked…ouch! I have already flown 80K miles in 6 months. Whew!! have fun! Pete

    Leave a Reply

    