Paris, France – Eiffel Tower (Infrared)

I arrived into Paris this past Friday nite.  Hopped on the Air France Bus to the Arc De Triomphe.  When I arrived traffic was snarled to a stop all over the city.  I could see my target Le Defense in the distance, but the taxi driver said it would take too long and he was cutting out at 6:30 PM.  LOL  Oh well, plan B!  I took a drive over to my favorite spot…the Eiffel Tower.  I was dropped off up top and was going to take the 5 minute walk down the hill to it.  As I arrived I saw the tower wrapped up in covers on a few sections.  Ugh!  Painting time.  So the front view was a mess…and some sides.  Not worth any photos.  I feel bad for the tourists that are visiting for the first time and they get a semi-covered view.  So I walked underneath and hoped the back side was decent?  As I looked up…nice!   But at this time of nite the sun was to the front left…not great to light up the tower.  So I tired a few HDR’s.   They will be tough…not much of a dynamic range on this amazing icon.

What to do next?  The sun was peeking out of the clouds…so a perfect time for Infrared!   I walked around looking for an angle.  I knew the trees would be key!   Lots of people were hanging out on the lawn near to me.  I used a little of the new CS5 Content Aware to erase a person.  That alone is one reason to get CS5!   You cant even tell….and all you do is a quick swipe!  Magic!!  I shot a few versions and like this one the most!  Ah…Infrared is a great option to have!  I only took 43 IR Shots this nite, this was my favorite!  Sky is cool and you can tell it gets a bit darker as it gets further away from the sun.   This was my first time shooting the Tower in IR.  I’d love to be able to shoot it at high noon in the summer.  Hopefully one day!    Enjoy!

Added it to my IPad Wallpapers today!! Click here…  Eiffel Tower IPad Wallpaper.

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D70S (Converted to Infrared)
  • Infrared Conversion:  D70S modified by LifePixel
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 f/4.0
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 12.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  1/60 sec
  • Aperture:  f/22
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4 & CS5, Viveza
6 comments on “Paris, France – Eiffel Tower (Infrared)

  1. aswirly says:

    I love the way infrared makes the tress look. Very cool shot. Can’t wait till you get that high noon shot 😉

  2. backlitpxl says:

    I am not really into infrared photography, but this photo rocks! Congrats!

  3. How do you convert digital to infrared??? I used to shoot a lot of it with my old 35, and miss it….

Leave a Reply

