Coins of the World (HDR)

Here is a fun shot I having been planning for a long time and finally took yesterday!  In my office I have a bag of coins / bills from my travels all around the world.   A few months ago, I thought why not try a shot with the coins in HDR format?  An easy shot to do…I just laid out all the coins on two pcs of paper set my tripod up and used the pull out leg on the tripod which enabled me to shoot directly downwards to the ground.  I was using the Nikon 18-200 lens and the old version does not have a zoom lock…so I let it max out and then adjusted the height of my tripod legs accordinly.

I shot it at f/4, f/7.1 and f/11 and compared each HDR afterwards to see what was the sharpest.  F/11 was perfect!   The others were a bit blurry.   I did my standard processing and used Topaz Adjust 4 for a little extra kick.  A fun shot to do!  I’d like to try the same using just pennies and also bills from around the world!   Maybe one day in the future you will see my shots here.   HDR is great….a pile of coins can look cool!    Not sure what the full bag would total….my guess is $250??    I think I need a trip to the Currency Exchange!  Have fun!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 18-200 f/3.5-5.6 VR
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 200.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/11
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Viveza, Topaz Adjust
6 comments on “Coins of the World (HDR)

  1. What a coooooool shot, Pete. Love it!!

  2. Matt says:

    Interesting shot, Pete. For HDR I find that I almost always have the f-stop at f16 if I can. For me, depth of field is a tough thing to pull off with HDR – the blur ends up looking unintentional. That’s why I am so impressed with your sports shots, and some of your close ups of flowers etc.

    • Matt, thanks!! For each lens you have…there is a sweet spot (sharpest) f-stop! They can be all different. F/8 to f/16 is the range. The 18-200 is best at f/8..,,but this shot was a tad better at f/11. Ya never know…every shot is different! As for DOF…I have no secrets…just take my best shot possible!! =)) Have fun! Pete

  3. Wilsonian says:

    Great Photo!

Leave a Reply

