Austin, TX – Real Estate HDR Photography

I am now home from my travels for bit and want to get started on using my HDR skills for something different.  Selling prints and digital licensing has been great, but I am all for diversifying my styles.  The more options the better. Next step is to get into Real Estate Photography.  It is an easy gig for 1-2 hours on weekends.   I plan to limit my shoots and see how it goes!  I have been studying detials for the past few months since my first attempt in which I posted here.  If you are an HDR artist…I will keep you updated on my plight.  My approximation is that each shoot should run at a price of $250-$1000 depending on house size & number of photos.

So I went out at lunch yesterday and took a few shots of a model home (above) that is right near my house.  I took this as I was leaving and thought a full sun HDR..nah.  After post processing..not bad!  That is thanks to the rock facade! Adds nice details and texture.  The next step is to take a bunch more shots/houses and build my portfolio. Then prepare a flyer/mailer to local agents and see how the feedback goes.  Later this summer, I hope to land a few gigs.  I’ll gladly share my scoops.  One more shot of the house (settings below are for the outside shot).

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 f/4.0
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 16.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/16.0
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Viveza
12 comments on “Austin, TX – Real Estate HDR Photography

  1. hdrexposed says:

    A great shot Pete! Good luck!

  2. […] Excerpt from: Austin, TX – Real Estate HDR Photography « Places 2 Explore […]

  3. Excellent work, Pete. It’s a great house to process into HDR, too. I have seen more and more HDR work in brochures around here but not up to snuff compared to your processing. I wish you luck in getting some gigs.

  4. thank you, great post!

  5. Your photos looks perfect, more natural look (but with good seen textures) comes good for such photos.
    Good luck with your business!

  6. aswirly says:

    Nice work here Pete! (Can I have the house? Puh-leeeeez)

  7. Grumpy Goat says:

    Great pic. How did the brochure/sales pitch go? Curious as to the business end.

  8. Chris says:

    Great shots, but for the first one I would have shifted the white van out of the way.

Leave a Reply

