San Antonio, TX – Riverwalk

Here is a little color explosion for ya!  Back in December we went down to see the XMas lights at the Riverwalk in San Antonio.   Late nite when it was quiet…I stationed myself on a bridge and played around with long exposures and zooming in and out.  I wanted to catch some light streaks using the hanging lights from the trees.  It is easy to do…just set a long exposure and zoom in or out while the photo is being taken!  And this is what you get!  Have fun with photography!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 18-200 VR f/3.5-5.6
  • Setting: Aperture Mode
  • Focal Length:  200.0mm to lower (for the effect)
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  3 seconds
  • Aperture:  f/11.0
  • Gear:  Tripod, Cable release
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4
12 comments on “San Antonio, TX – Riverwalk

  1. Dave Wilson says:

    Another great shot, Pete. BTW, I don’t know if you saw that Places 2 Explore is listed in the top 10 travel HDR forums over at http://www.photography-colleges.org/top-100-travel-photography-blogs/ – congratulations! The number 1 forum in the list is from Peter Tsai, also from Austin. It’s a great blog but I think of him as a portrait photographer rather than a travel shooter – go figure.

  2. michaeltuuk says:

    What a great idea! Whenever I see one of these I promise to try more of them myself…never remember later though.

    I’ve gotten a few ideas from you already:

    1) small aperture for starburst used here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4309915325/

    2) Capitol building through the gate here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4495593335/

  3. Jim Nix says:

    nice one Pete, way cool!

  4. aswirly says:

    WHOA!!! Too cool! I feel like I’m travling in some kind of fantastic warp speed.

  5. iheartfilm says:

    Woah . . . I mean, woah.

Leave a Reply

