Tokyo, Japan – Tokyo Tower (Infrared)

This shot was taken a week ago today.  Amazingly from the window in my hotel room!  I stayed at the Tokyo Prince Hotel.  As you can tell it is right next to the tower.  I have been to Japan many many times, but unfortunately my work comes first and I rarely get time to see Japan with my camera.  I had a nite before my flight left to stay anywhere.  I had seen the tower bunches of times heading back to the airport, but never have seen it up close.  So I asked to stay near it and they booked me into this perfect hotel!  When I checked in…I always ask for a high floor with a view!   Most of the time I get lucky!

On our way to the hotel my co-workers told me that there is a new tower being constructed.  It will be called the Tokyo Sky Tree.  Here is some inof on the new tower from the web:    The Tokyo Sky Tree (東京スカイツリー Tōkyō Sukai Tsurī) (originally referred to as New Tokyo Tower) is a broadcasting tower under construction in the Narihirabashi/Oshiage area of Sumida war in Tokyo, Japan. As of 29 March 2010 it is the tallest artificial structure in Japan. When completed, the tower will have a height of 634.00 m (2,080 ft). The present Tokyo Tower (333 m) is not tall enough to give complete digital terrestrial television broadcasting coverage, due to the construction of many nearby high-rise buildings in the central part of the Tokyo Metropolis.  The project is being led by Tobu Railway and a group of six terrestrial broadcasters (headed by public broadcaster NHK). Construction of the tower is scheduled to be completed by December 2011, with public opening from spring 2012. The completed structure will be the highlight of a massive commercial development around Oshiage Station.  Check out a computer generated photo of the new tower here.. Tokyo Sky Tree Looks beautiful!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D70S (Converted to Infrared)
  • Infrared Conversion:  D70S modified by LifePixel
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 f/4.0
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 18.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  1/80 sec
  • Aperture:  f/22
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Silver Efex Pro, Viveza
5 comments on “Tokyo, Japan – Tokyo Tower (Infrared)

  1. tokyo5 says:

    Yes, now the “Tokyo Sky Tree” is the tallest structure in Japan.

    When finished, it’ll will be the second tallest in the world.

    http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2010/03/29/the-highest-in-japan/

  2. Reminds me of an opening to an old RKO movie.

  3. martinsoler says:

    Great pic, infrared is a little odd at times. I took my gear with me on a work trip last time and seriously regret it. It all got stolen, and air berlin (or any other airline for that matter) think it is easier to not cover insurance on photo materiel rather than find the theives.
    So it’s nice to enjoy other people’s photos in the meanwhile.
    http://martinsoler.com

Leave a Reply

