Austin, TX – Cardinal (HDR)

I took a little time off yesterday and visited Zilker Botanical Garden in Austin yesterday with my good buddy Jim Nix (Nomadic Pursuits).  We figured as it was spring, why not try and capture some flowers in macro. Unbeknownst to us…it was windy… although a beautiful day!   We snapped a bunch of flower shots and walked around the park.  As we walked down this one path, Jim saw the cardinal.  He was only 5-8 feet away.  He flew into the bush and I quickly changed lenses form the 105 Macro to the 70-200 VR.   I took a few step in and snapped away!  As I was taking pic the grounds keepers told me to get out as there due to possible poison ivy.  Oh well..if I get it well worth it!   I have always wanted to give “birding” a try…but its another type of photography that really needs a 200-400 lens….a bit out of my budget!   Not bad for a quickie shot!  The flowers and birds are out in TX…spring has arrived here!   Hope you got a few shots Jim!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 70-200 VR f/2.8
  • Setting: Aperture Mode
  • Focal Length:  200.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  1/125 sec (Single RAW HDR)
  • Aperture:  f/5.0
  • Gear:  Hand Held
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Viveza, Photmatix
One comment on “Austin, TX – Cardinal (HDR)

  1. Jim Nix says:

    This came out great Pete! I did get some good ones, and will post the waterfall shot tomorrow! Also got a few good flowers, still working on them though! I had a blast, look forward to seeing more of yours! Jim

Leave a Reply

