Nürnberg, Germany – St. Lorenz Cathedral (HDR)

I just returned form Germany. It was quite cold and snowy!  I visited many cities and had a chance to stop by one of my favorite places in Germany…Nürnberg.  A cute little city north of Munich and east of Frankfurt.   Temperatures last week were about 20-35 degrees.  A bit chilly!  When I arrived in Nürnberg late one afternoon, I had about an hour before my main target St. Lorenz Cathedral closed for the day.   I got there and had about 45 minutes to shoot.  You walk in this amazing church and your jaw drops!  I set up my tripod and shot away!  About 20 minutes later the guard came up to me and said it was ok for me to shoot with a tripod! WOW!!

I set up all over the place…using wide angle and my fisheye.   It is such a large Cathedral…this shot above is just the back end section!!!   I have many many great HDR’s from here. I’ll post a few more over the next few months.  The Cathedral closed at 6 PM and I walked outside to the beautiful little streets filled with shops in every direction.  As I walked an looked for my next location…a tremendous snow squall fell upon the city!  It was snowing so hard, I could barely see.  The flakes were enormous!  In a matter of minutes of walking down the street, I was covered in white!!   I walked up to a Christmas/Souvenir Store and warmed up inside waiting for the snow to pass.  20 minutes later the snow was gone and I went out to shoot some more.  A fun evening of photos in Nürnberg!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 10.5 Fisheye f/2.8
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 10.5.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/11
  • Gear:  Tripod, Cable release
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Viveza
5 comments on “Nürnberg, Germany – St. Lorenz Cathedral (HDR)

  1. Jim Nix says:

    Looks awesome Pete and sounds like a great time over there! Jim

  2. […] Here is the original post: Nürnberg, Germany – St. Lorenz Cathedral (HDR) « Places 2 Explore […]

  3. Josh says:

    Hey I’m going to Nurnberg in May. Any recommendations on things to do, places to eat? I’ve never been to Germany before or anywhere east of London.

    • Josh, hey there! I usually stay at the Sheraton or Holiday Inn. Right down the street from the Holiday Inn is my fav restaurant in Nurnberg…Japanese Restaurant Ishihrara (Teppanyaki Style). Great! Also at the Hauptmarkt there are many places 2 eat! Sadly I go to the McDonalds near St. Lorenz for the WiFi Hotspot via T-Mobile. Such a cute little place! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

