Daytona, Florida – Daytona 500 (Kyle Busch)

Only one month away until the Daytona 500.  Daytona is the Super Bowl of NASCAR.   My sis gets tickets every year…so I have been to this race 3 of the last 5 years.  I may have posted before…I have been to many different sporting events and nothing beats the excitement of the Daytona 500.   It does help as out that the tickets are the first row (about 10 yards from the track).  When those cars come roaring by….WOW!    We even get a small amount of dirt and junk flying in our faces!   Makes a hot dog and beer taste even better!   LOL  This shot was from 2008 (50th year of Daytona) thanks to “Pit” passes.  You can get pretty close to the cars.  Here they are rolling out Kyle Busch’s car for the start of the race.   I wish I could use my connections and get a chance to shoot the race…maybe one day.  Now I will settle for shots from the stands!    Looking forward to the race next month!   I added a little Topaz Adjust to the shot for a little more grit.

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 18-200 f/3.5-5.6
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 135.0mm
  • ISO: 1600
  • Exposure:   1/800
  • Aperture:  f/14
  • Gear:  Tripod, Cable release
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Topaz Adjust
2 comments on “Daytona, Florida – Daytona 500 (Kyle Busch)

  1. Becky Estey says:

    Hi! I have been crusing around your website and it is very nice! My eye caught the shot of Kyle Bush’s car so I read your blog about going to Daytona. I was at that particular race but over in turn 2 on the backstretch. Still fun! I noticed you said you would like to work a race sometime. I have done it on a small scale…NASCAR Nationwide and Camping World Truck races in Memphis Tennessee for a local paper. Let me tell you……its very hard work! Not trying to discourage you but I did find out that if your a fan of the sport……it’s better photographed from the stands or with pit passes. You find out real quick that action happens where your not when it comes to trying to photograph the race itself! lol. Anyway you have some very nice photographs on your site and I wanted to compliment you on them. I have traveled to some of the same places that you have been and recoginized right off! I also did a staircase shot in the Vatican! I shoot IR as well. If you would like, and you get a chance, take a look at my website. Thanks for sharing your work and keep shooting!

  2. Mokys says:

    Some very interesting information here, and a very interesting blog too.

    I will have to bookmark this and stop by more often.

    thanks

Leave a Reply

