Portland, Maine – Portland head Light (HDR)

A few months ago I visited Portland for the first time.  What a lovely little town!   The main tourist spot is the world famous Portland Head Light.   It is a wonderful photo location.  When I was there everybody was taking pics.  There are quite a few angles to shoot from.   The rocks along the shoreline make for a wonderful composition.   I enjoyed this angle with a little reflection pond.   I plan to visit Portland again in the summer.  Seafood is a favorite of mine and like I said in my last post from Portland…I have Maine Lobster for dinner this nite…three letters is all I need to type – WOW!  The best lobster I have ever had!    There are a few close spots I would enjoy seeing next time…one is Acadia National Park.   Looks beautiful!

Here is some info on Portland from the web: Nestled between Maine’s forest-covered mountains and spectacular rugged coast is the historic and vibrant city of Portland. Maine offers unspoiled landscapes, beautiful vistas, succulent lobster, stately lighthouses, outdoor adventures, exceptional shopping, and much, much more…  In the Casco Bay region of Greater Portland to Freeport you’ll find it all within a 15 mile radius surrounding the state’s largest city – Portland.  Sure, there’s more to see throughout the state of Maine, from Bar Harbor’s Acadia National Park to mile-high Mt. Katahdin in Baxter State Park.  But right here, in Greater Portland, you can experience a bit of what everyone’s talking about, a small piece of “everything Maine.”  From mountains to lakes, city to country, inland to coast, nature to nightlife, welcome to Greater Portland’s Casco Bay!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 F/4
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 24.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/22
  • Gear:  Tripod, Cable release
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Color Efex Pro, Viveza
5 comments on “Portland, Maine – Portland head Light (HDR)

  1. […] More: Portland, Maine – Portland head Light (HDR) « Places 2 Explore […]

  2. Liz says:

    I love your picture. I too visited Portland Head Light for the first time this summer. Although I’ve been to Portland many, many times, I had never made it out to Cape Elizabeth where the light sits. As you say, what a wonderful sight with a number of great photo opportunities. I am only an amateur with my camera, but still managed to get some great shots.

    Fort William Park, home to the lighthouse, is also a beautiful area where you can just hang out, enjoy a picnic lunch, or walk the beach. Thanks for sharing your picture!

  3. Liz says:

    In my initial Reply I meant to add…

    You say “There are a few close spots I would enjoy seeing next time…one is Acadia National Park. Looks beautiful!”

    Yes, Acadia National Park on Mount Desert Island is a must see! Talk about photo opportunities! And, don’t miss sunrise on Cadillac Mountain – it is well worth the early morning alarm. The locals suggest that you arrive at least 1/2 hour before sunrise to get the full effect (and a good parking spot!). I went an hour early and truly enjoyed my time sitting alone on the mountain top waiting for the other tourists to arrive, and the first light of day.

    • Liz, thanks so much for the tips!! I will be back int he summer and will see Acadia NP for the first time. I will surely go to CM for sunrise!! Wonderful idea! Thanks so much! Enjoy!! Pete

  4. I really liked reading your post!. Quallity content. With such a valuable blog i believe you deserve to be ranking even higher in the search engines :). Check out the link in my name. That links to a tool that really helped me rank high in google. This way even more people can enjoy your posts and nothing beats a big audiance 😉

Leave a Reply

