Paris, France – Louvre Pyramid (HDR)

NIKON D300, Nikon 10.5 Fisheye, HDR in Photomatix

After my Eiffel Tower visit in Paris, I am often driven to photograph the Louvre.  The Pyramid draws you in at night time.  The Louvre Palace is wonderful (it surrounds the Pyramid on three sides)…but for some reason most of my photos here contain the wonderful pyramid design.   It is very pleasing to the eye…it is illuminated perfectly and see you can see through to the museum below as you walk near.  Pools of water are located around the pyramid as well…just right for a reflective shot that adds an extra effect to your photo!

The only difficult issue at this location is timing  it right to avoid the crowds.  At this time of nite (9 PM)…not tons of people are there, but you still have to sit and wait sometimes for the correct timing.  If I can recall…it took about 5 minutes for me to get the pathways empty.  To pass time while waiting I would think of the DiVinci Code and the treasures below.  I have yet to take a tour inside (never enough time)…so maybe one day I can view the Mona Lisa!  I set my tripod up and took 5 exposures with my cable release…the fisheye grabbed a big section of the Louvre.  It actually looks like the shot was mirrored (as both sides look the same…almost)…but you can tell subtle differences in the sides.

I truly enjoy this new fisheye lens.  A shot like this would not be possible with any other lens.  It is such a light and easy lens to carry…it will be with me always!  I’ll post more Louvre shots in the future… have many!  Enjoy!

3 comments on “Paris, France – Louvre Pyramid (HDR)

  1. jrutherfordphotography says:

    Beautiful photo, love the lighting!

Leave a Reply

