Painted Blanket (HDR)

PBlanket HDR 02-small

NIKON D300, Nikon 105 Macro, HDR in Photomatix

After a few rainy days here in Austin, I noticed some wildflowers growing in our garden.  The rain had ended and the cloud cover was still overhead.  A great time to shoot flowers!  I had never shot a flower in HDR…so here was my chance.  With a few small sprinkles landing on my camera, I set up my tripod and cable release…took 5 exposures.  I tried a few angles and shooting up close and further away.  I wanted to show texture of the flower and thought the colors would work well in HDR.   So here it is..my first ever attempted flower HDR!    A couple drops of water on the edge of the flower added a nice effect.  After seeing this finalized shot…flowers are pretty cool as HDR!   It was also the first time I used my macro lens to produce an HDR.  A day of firsts!  Experimentation is what photogrpaphy is all about!  Enjoy!

Adobe Releases Photoshop.com iPhone App

Thanks to The IPhone Blog here is some info on the new Adobe App: (remember its just a touch up software app…not filled with all the Photoshop features)
photoshop_app

Adobe has released Photoshop.com Mobile [Free – iTunes Link]. The App Store is cluttered with a ton of photo editing tools, but this was one obvious omission. Nice to see Adobe fill it.

  • Crop, rotate, change color with just a touch.
  • Give an extra glow with Soft Focus.
  • Get artsy with Sketch.
  • Apply one-touch effects like Warm Vintage and Vignette.

The app can take photos with the iPhone and/or edit photos already on the iPhone or iPod touch, but can also use a free Photoshop.com account. It’s a cinch to set up. Simply take a few moments to open your photoshop.com account to edit, upload, store, and share all of your iPhone photos.