Frankfurt, Germany – Main (Hauptbahnhof)

Frankfurt Main HDR

NIKON D300, Nikon 12-24, HDR in Photomatix

Frankfurt (Main) Hauptbahnhof  (usually translated from German as Frankfurt (Main) Central Station, short form: Frankfurt (Main) Hbf) is the central station for Frankfurt am Main. In terms of railway traffic, it is the busiest railway station in Germany.  I travel into Germany a few times a year and am always going through the Main station.

My hotel this nite was only 2 blocks away and I wanted to get a shot of the station.  As it was quiet at around 10 PM and the guards were bored and kept a close eye on me.  I could tell they were ready to tell me to leave so I snapped only a few photos.  I really wanted to get an HDR, but didn’t have the chance to get one.

So the photo above is an HDR of the Main station using 1 RAW photo!  I converted the photo to +2,+1,0,-1,-2 (5 copies) and post processed in Photomatix!   Not bad!  As there are no moving parts in the photo (clouds, etc..) a single RAW photo conversion into an HDR is ok!   I rarely do such a style…but sometimes it can work!

When traveling in Germany get used to saying Hauptbahnhof (train) & Flughafen (airport).  Once you have mastered these…you can get around easily!!   auf Wiedersehen!!

