Austin, Texas – Friday Night Lights (HS Football)

LT HS Football Game

NIKON D300, Nikon 70-200 VR, Monopod

Here in Texas high school football is a very big deal.  Just like the television show called “Friday Night Lights”.  Our local team is Lake Travis High School.   After this game Friday night, we have won 32 consecutive games (2 straight state titles)….very impressive!

Here is some info from the web:  Michael Brewer (QB in the photo above) passed for 414 yards and accounted for four touchdowns to lead Lake Travis to a 42-21 win over Westlake. Brewer, who threw for 379 yards in a season-opening victory over Westwood, is in his first year as the Cavaliers’ starting quarterback, a position held in the past four years by current University of Kansas quarterback Todd Reesing and Garrett Gilbert, now a backup at the University of Texas.

Quarterback’s for LT have been key to our winning tradition.  Todd Reesing is one of the top QB’s in the NCAA right now.   Garrett Gilbert is now a Freshman at UT and had his first action last nite late in the game and scored a touchdown!  Brewer looks to fit the mold!  Good luck Michael!

As for the photography…this was my first ever attempt at shooting football…at night is even more difficult.  I was lucky to be on the field for this opportunity.  I used the Nikon 70-200 VR…a good choice for its f/2.8.  I shot wide open the whole time.  My first shots were test photos….trying to find the right setting.  I shot shutter priority and set my ISO sensitivity to auto…that way the camera would automatically work what ever ISO I need to get the shot.  Most shots were at 3200.

LT HS  Football Game 2

I was lucky I shot with the D300 (crop sensor) as compared to a full sensor camera is give you more reach on the 70-200 lens.  So I played around with the shutter and found 1/500 was working well.  I basically shot with this setting the whole night.  I did ok shooting…60% of my shots were blurry.  Two cool shots are posted above. I have to learn to focus on the fly and I will get more usable shots.   A definite fun experience!!!  I felt like a sideline photographer.  With practice, my skills can grow fast!  Look out NFL and Sports Illustrated!   (I wish).  A wonderful learning experience I will never forget…and hope to try again!

2 comments on “Austin, Texas – Friday Night Lights (HS Football)

  1. daniel chow says:

    Hi Pete,

    The Cavalier (Lake Travis) are playing at home tomorrow night. Hope to see you there if you are going to be in town for more practice in shooting sport.

    BTW You images are awesome.

    Take care
    Daniel

Leave a Reply

