Newport Beach, Cailfornia – Lifeguard Station (HDR)

Newport Beach, CA - Lifeguard (HDR)

NIKON D300, Nikon 18-200 VR, HDR in Photomatix

Here is one of the most interesting HDR’s I have ever done.  I was not sure how the outcome would look…and it came out pretty cool??  When I was taking shots of the Newport Beach Pier this one morning, I looked over my left side and in the distance I could see these Lifeguard Stations sitting in the sand and the surrounding air was very hazy.  It was a eye catching scene…I did  a double take.  I took a break and walked close to this station.  I am not sure what to call this early morning haze…was it haze, smog, marine layer?  Not sure?  Maybe CA beach goers have a name for it? 

So to the photo…this is an HDR shot in the beach haze.  The shot above after tone mapping in Photomatix, has basically no post processing in Photoshop.  I touched up the levels a bit, thats all!  It looks like a black and white…but you can tell some of the garbage on the beach is in color.  The sky with the rays of sun in the haze are quite interesting!  You can get a feel of the haze in the background by the Palm Trees.  Not sure what to make of this picture…different indeed!   Hope your day is not as hazy!!

2 comments on “Newport Beach, Cailfornia – Lifeguard Station (HDR)

  1. mf church says:

    like the tire tracks in the sand.. like they were getting the stations ready before the masses ensue…..enjoying your work!

Leave a Reply

