Salisbury, England – Stonehenge – HDR

Stonehendge HDR

NIKON D300, Nikon 18-200 VR, HDR in Photomatix

During my stay in London, I had a Friday afternoon free and always wanted to visit Stonehenge.  I had my chance and booked a afternoon direct tour with Premium Tours.   The bus departed Trafalgar Square at 1:15 PM. There are also a few other pick ups along the way.  We hit the road to Salisbury around 1:45 PM.   We arrived 2 hours later at Stonehenge.  While driving up you get a view of the hill where the stones are located.  From the distance you can see people walking around the site.  It gets you excited.  The parking lot is across the street and you cross over under a walking tunnel.  Magically through the tunnel Stonehenge appears!

The driver joked on the way there…there are “the bunch of rocks”.  Kinda funny as it is true…they are just a bunch of rocks.  You travel far just to see them.  To me it was a “been there done that” kind of visit.  I knew it would not be anything special…so I wanted to see them anyway.  As long as you understand the scope of your visit it is ok.  When we arrived we had 1 hour and 10 minutes to see the rocks.  I figured it was enough…but time was tight for me.  You can only get so close to the rocks as they are surrounded by a small fence that only allows you to walk in designated areas.  Its was fine to me.  The closest you get is about 15-20 yards away from one section.

I walked around a had my tripod set up and got just about every angle of the rocks.  Halfway around…I lowered my tripod almost to the ground and liked that view for the persepctive.  That is this shot shown above.  I had to lay on the grass to get these shots.   I was also taking IR shots along the way also…not so great as you can see the cloud cover was heavy.  I may post one a day in the future.   But they need lots of post processing help – I will look at later.   I mainly took HDR shots.  I figured with the clouds and the texture of the rocks…that would be perfect for an HDR.  The shots came out pretty cool.  I liked this one as the clouds look like they are opening up above the site.

I just realized I should have posted this shot on June 21st…Summer Solstice…so I’m just a few days late!   Time went fast and I had to head back to the bus.   I did enjoy the visit…although it was Friday and the drive back took about 3 hours to London!  Whew!  I was glad I visited.   Now is Easter Island next?  LOL  I’ll post another close up shot in a few weeks and post some historical details on Stonehenge.  On the drive out…I didnt get to see any crop cirlces….although in the paper the day before a new one was found.  The truth is out there!

One comment on “Salisbury, England – Stonehenge – HDR

  1. Silvano Giuli says:

    Dear Sir,

    I ask you permission to use this excellent photo in the book: “The most beautiful archaeological sites of the world”. This is a tour exploring all the most interesting sites around the planet. The book must be finished around august 2010. In case you agree, I need the photo in high resolution. Of course your full name will figure at the bottom of the photo. The image will not be given to third parties.
    Best regards,
    Silvano Giuli

Leave a Reply

