Huntington Beach, CA – Pier (HDR)

From a few weekends ago…I woke up early to catch the sunrise at Huntington Beach Pier on a Saturday morning..  I was lucky…at around 6:20 ish AM the lights on the pier automatically shut off…I was able to catch 2 HDR’s in time!    The photo above was one shot.  As I continued to shoot the pier…it was cool to see all the surfers arrive at the same time.  I grabbed a few shots up on the pier…will post em one day soon.  This pier is a great subject.  I had never shot it before.  I’d like to go back one day at sunset and try some more shots.  I had brought with me my “Star” filter in hopes to try my first HDR with the filter to see how it looks.  But the lights on the pier went out too soon. Already the long exposure creates a flare on the lights.  What will it do to and HDR? I have no idea??   I’ll try it one day! That is the fun of photography…so many styles to try!!   As the sun rose, I put on my B&W ND Filter #106.  I had fun trying to gain the smoky water effect.  After the sun was up on the horizon…my pier time was over!  Onto surfing shots!!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 f/4.0
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 16.0 mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 7 exposures (+3 to -3)
  • Aperture:  f/22
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS5, HDR Efex Pro, Viveza, Photo Tools 2.6
Leave a Reply

