Spicewood, Texas – Krause Springs (Infrared)

From the fantastic Krause Springs in Spicewood, Texas…one of my favorite IR shots!   I love this place for photography.  I have visited a few times and always come out with cool pics!  I enjoy this little river that trails down from the swimming hole.  My tripod seems to set up shop here!    It is almost time for another visit here…the leaves are due to change colors in Texas in the next few weeks.

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D70S (Converted to Infrared)
  • Infrared Conversion:  D70S modified by LifePixel
  • Lens: Nikon 12-12 f/4
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 18.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  1/5 second
  • Aperture:  f/22
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Color Efex Pro, Viveza, Silver Efex Pro
3 comments on “Spicewood, Texas – Krause Springs (Infrared)

  1. exileimaging says:

    Incredible detail, Pete, this is amazing! I see you were stopped down to f/22. I’ve read that going past around f/16, you can actually introduce some distortion (diffraction) into the photo. Have you ever noticed this.

    • Van, yeah, f/22 is not great, but I like to get everything in focus and allow the IR camera to grab a longer exposure. I seem to have no probs with f/22. But I bet if you look closely, there might be some issues. I love the details in this one as well! …helped by a little extra post processing! =))

  2. aswirly says:

    This is gorgeous. The scene just pulls you right in! Wow! Fabulous in IR

Leave a Reply

