Pittsburgh, PA – Cathedral of Learning (HDR)

Located at the University of Pittsburgh…the Cathedral of Learning is not only a great subject inside (as you have seen per my previous posts)…the outside is excellent as well!  Standing tall…it is one beautiful structure located in the midst of the campus.  If you are ever in Pittsburgh…stop by..you will not regret it!  Good luck Panthers!!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 f/4
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 15.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/22
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Viveza
  • The Photographer’s Right

    I always try to catch up and read my friend’s blogs.  Dave Wilson has “News and Views from Dave Wilson“.  He had a great post yesterday about Security Guards and having issues with a tripod taking photos of a building.  Dave, I agree with you 100%!  I have had my share of security run ins.  After reading Dave’s comments, it gets me fired up.  For those that may not know…there is a PDF out there called “The Photographer’s Right”.  It is posted below.  I always keep a copy in my camera bag.  If you want to get a copy, just click the photo.  As more people are buying DSLR’s, taking photos has become more difficult around town for security reasons.  Throw in a tripod and you are a target for all security guards.  I understand that certain areas should not be photographed…Military and Government Installations, but  I am always curious as to why certain Churches will not allow photographs using a  tripod without permission?  This issue can be dragged out forever.  I just wish one day, it becomes easier for us photographer’s…not worse!!   Sadly, the outlook does not look good.  At least Disney allows tripods!!  =)