Austin, TX – In My Daughters Eyes

I had to post this wonderful photo…not taken by me!  This shot was taken by my six year old daughter.  We were all playing tennis this past weekend and I brought my 70-200 lens up to catch all of us in action.  My wife and I would all take turns taking a break in the shade and photograph each other.  Near the end of the day we took a few cool fisheye shots and then I switched over to my least used lens…the Nikon 50mm f/1.4.   Its a great small lens and makes it easy to hold the camera for a six year old.  She asked if she could use my camera.  I let her take pictures and she captured some great tennis action and like all kids, they take shots of what they see right near them wherever they are!  Love those shots!!  This shot is of her shoes.  Not cropped at all… as is except a little photoshop work and Nik Color Efex Pro – Tonal Contrast filter and some vignetting.

My little one has her own CoolPix, and always asks to get a “big” camera.  I tell her she can as soon as she is 8 years old.   She already knows well about HDR ‘s, IR and Portrait photography.  If she wants to continues to learn, I will not hold her back.  The view from our kids eyes with a camera in their hands is wonderful to see!!

If you are a photographer or are the chosen one in the family to catch all the pics…share the wealth!  Let your wife/husband and/or kids grab a few shots!  I really don’t push them to join in the fun…Ill let them decide that on their own….but my hopes are one day to have all of us with DSLR’s heading out on a photographic trip!  So share your camera with your loved ones (I know its tough to give it up)…ya never know…they might have some skills!!!!!    Have fun!

8 comments on “Austin, TX – In My Daughters Eyes

  1. photobyholly says:

    How cool! I have a 6 year old son, and I’ve let him take a few pictures with my camera – he LOVES it! Letting them take the picture is like being able to see through their eyes. She did a great job! :)

  2. exileimaging says:

    Your daughter did a fantastic job. This is a great photo! Just one question, though; where are the shoelaces?

  3. GREAT shot, little one. ;-)

  4. atmtx says:

    Fantastic detail. I love how kids see different things.

Leave a Reply

