Coronado, CA – A West Coast Sunset (HDR)

One evening in Coronado we were heading out for dinner along the bay and I brought my camera hoping for a nice sunset.  If you know Coronado, a big percentage of it is a military base.  It is called the Naval Amphibious Base.  In the distance you can see an aircraft carrier parked along the pier.    Coronado is a wonderful location.  If you stay along th ebay you can watch all the boat traffic cruise by.  One day we saw a Destroyer heading out for the day.  Helicopters fly over for sorties often.  Big ships entering the port.  Just lots of action.

If I can recall the Officer’s Club where Tom Cruise sings to Kelyl McGillis “You Lost That Loving Felling” was filmed at the Naval Base in Coronado.  I looked it up on the net…not sure if it is still there:  (from July 2008) Heading down south a bit, Kansas City Barbeque, the San Diego restaurant where Goose belts out “Great Balls of Fire” at the piano in Top Gun, burned to the ground yesterday afternoon. A cook told firefighters the blaze flared up from inside the cooking pit and spread quickly through the interior, melting all the years of memorabilia along the way, including the jukebox that played “You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin” in the final scene of the movie, the piano and other props. The restaurant totally capitalized on its fame, proudly called itself the “Top Gun Bar,” and in its 24 years has been a big Navy hangout. It’s “shrine” full of Navy baseball hats, signed bras, life preservers, license plates and other randomness is gone. Where’s Maverick when you need him, huh?

I guess it was a Great Ball of Fire after all!   LOL  Have fun!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 18-200 f/3.5-5.6
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 90.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/22
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Viveza, Color Efex Pro
  • NEWS: Infrared Photography ebook (Coming soon!)

    I started work on my first ebook…Infrared Photography.  I hope to have it completed by Mid October!   I will let you know when it is available.  I’ll make sure to keep it under $10.00.  It will be a nice resource for anyone wanting to learn about and see how I process my Infrared photos!   – Pete