Heidelberg, Germany – Sunset City View (HDR)

Here is a city view Sunset shot of the amazingly beautiful little city in Germany – Heidelberg.  It was my first visit ever.  I only had 2 hours to grab as many shots as possible, every minute was worth it.  I had a few of my friends tell me to visit… as it was one of their favorite cities in Germany.  Just the little time I was there….I agree!   This view was from the Heidelberg Castle overlooking the city.  We took a 10 minute taxi ride from the Train Station and arrived at 8 PM.  We walked around the castle grounds…lovely!   When we finished we took a walk down many steps to the Market Place below (Gold Sphere).  At the lower middle of the picture you can see a parting of the buildings…these are the steps down to the town.  A nice workout!  I’d hate to walk up to the castle…whew!  Taxi!!!  LOL

Around the Cathedral in the middle of the town you can find many shops and cute little hotels.  I heard from my friend Mike that Zum Ritter was a great one.  I made the post the other day and it seems many have visited this wonderful place.  If you have any other hotel ideas…please let me know.  I may be back in September and would enjoy staying the nite.  One target spot I have seen before is right across the river up in the open grassy area…a great shot for a city/castle view!   Another shot coming next month.

Some info form the web:  Heidelberg is a city in Baden-Württemberg, Germany. As of 2008, over 145,000 people live within the city’s 109 square kilometres (42 sq mi) area. Heidelberg is a unitary authority. The Rhein-Neckar-Kreis rural district surrounds and has its seat in the city, but the city is not a part of the district.  Heidelberg lies on the river Neckar at the point where it leaves its narrow, steep valley in the Odenwald to flow into the Rhine valley. 20 kilometres (12 mi) northwest of Heidelberg, it joins the river Rhine at Mannheim. Heidelberg is part of a densely populated region known as the Rhine-Neckar Metropolitan Region.

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 18-200 f/3.5-5.6 VR
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 22.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/4
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Viveza
  • About these ads

    8 comments on “Heidelberg, Germany – Sunset City View (HDR)

    1. jim Nix says:

      Nice one Pete – I do love that town! Look forward to seeing more from here!

    2. ashraf says:

      I love HDR… HDR is awesome.. make my picture more attractive…

    3. Inspiring–and thanks for the heads-up on the climbing involved. I plan to be in Germany in September, too. This definitely goes on the list.

    4. Hey, Pete–I plan to spend a month and make a circle of the country: Frankfurt, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Liepzig, Berlin, Weimar, Kiel, etc, and prolly end up in Koln. I’m still studying maps and planning, so thanks for the inspiration….

      • Mary, Hello! Sounds like a great trip!!!! Frankfurt is ok…but a must see. If you can…try and get to Munich!! Berlin rocks! Koln is wonderful!! Dresden was always on my list…hope to visit soon. Check it out if you can!

    5. Shannon Curtis says:

      I have almost the exact same picture as your last one! Only mine isn’t HDR, I’m just discovering that. My husband was born in Heidelberg and we are actually going to be stationed in Ansbach for a few years so I’m really looking forward to expanding/exploring my photography and getting into HDR and IR. Love your pictures!

      • Shannon, thanks!! HDR’ing is easy! I prefer to use HDR Efex Pro to process. Ansbach, nice!! Near one of my German cities…Nurnberg!! Im jealous!! Just think Salzburg/Vienna is super close for you as well!! =)) Have a great time!! Take lots o pics!!

    Leave a Reply

    