Pflugerville, TX – Centerra Homes in HDR

HDR for use for commercial purposes??  Yes indeed!  Our good friend Tommy Grant runs a wonderful home building business here in central Texas called Centerra Homes.   If you are looking for a new home in the Austin area….stop on by the website and check out the details!    Some info from the site:  Centerra Homes is a premier homebuilding company founded in Austin, Texas. With over forty years of combined home building experience, we are committed to building relationships, one customer and one home at a time. Our mission is to build each and every home as if we are building it for our own family.

Last week a new model was completed and ready to go and Tommy asked me to photograph it for their website. I was eager to give commercial photography a shot!  I spent the morning taking lots of photos.  Beforehand I told Tommy that I would shoot both standard and HDR. We then could compare them and see what version looks better.  I returned home in the afternoon and processed the pictures.  The HDR’s looked fantastic!!!  Above is the family room using a wide angle lens.   I used a wide angle (Nikon 12-24 f/4) for the whole shoot along with a tripod and cable release….5 exposures on each shot.

I gave Tommy all the photos and suggested that maybe consider using the HDR’s for his website….except the kitchen which had wood grain cabinets and a wood floor….a bit too much texture going on!   I can assume the amount of HDRs used for commercial photographs is a very very small percentage.  Why?  Because most HDR photographers are all shooting landscape shots!   LOL     I’d give a thumbs up for commercial use of HDR’s!  Here is another…

The HDR creates a nice warm feeling to each photo.  The standard versions were solid, but I am happy he chose to use the HDR’s on his website.   Here is the link to all the photos. Centerra Homes – Falcon Pointe Thanks Tommy for thinking outside the box!  One last shot…

I know the NY Times was thinking about using HDR’s in their newspaper….soon HDR’ing will become a normal way of photography.  It is the fastest growing photographic style in the world today.   Enjoy the photos!   Good luck Centerra Homes!   Sell lots of houses!!

9 comments on “Pflugerville, TX – Centerra Homes in HDR

  1. Miguel says:

    That’s awesome! I really like the use of HDR in commercial shoot. In Toronto, we have some realtors who started to use HDR for their slideshows. It’s really nice, but some use it a little too much. It makes the place look a little too weird. Yours are wonderful! I loooveee the living room one (especially the shadows of the fan!).

    Thanks for sharing!

    • Miguel, thanks so much! I had a feeling HDR was being used elsewhere! But it does help if you have an HDR background in order to make your photos look great! I was very happy with the outcome!!! I will now offer my services for home site photos here in Austin! I also love that living room shot….makes me just want to sit there and enjoy the view!!! A beautiful house and wonderful decorating!!! ….life in HDR is fantastic!!

  2. […] Read this article: Pflugerville, TX – Centerra Homes in HDR « Places 2 Explore […]

  3. You did a great job, Pete. I’d buy that if I had the money and wanted to live in Texas ;-).

    I’ve noticed that more and more real estate companies are indeed using HDR in their sales brochures.

  4. Jason says:

    Pete I too was contacted by a real estate agent about using hdr. This is becoming the new way to shoot interiors. Before hand it consisted of some pretty big lighting set ups if you wanted good photos

  5. Thank you for this blog, keep up the informative posting. I will be sure to reference it when needed throughout our website once we add our resources section. Keep up the great blogging and thanks again.

  6. luis says:

    Grato por partilhar seus conhecimentos conosco .
    Abraços , Luís , SP , Brasil !

Leave a Reply

