San Francisco, CA – Neiman Marcus Rotunda (HDR)

Before I visit any location…I make sure to form a list of sights to see and search all avenues for ideas.  I use books I have, Google Images and Flickr.  I searched San Francisco on Flickr and saw a shot from the Neiman Marcus Store downtown.  When Horace Kwan and I started our photo opp day, we hit this sport first.  I figured the rotunda would be great using a fisheye!   Any circular shape in fisheye looks wonderful.  It captures the feeling of the effect just right.   Just a floor above is a restaurant and if I can recall we were in the women’s clothing section.  We set up while people were shopping and grabbed a few shots!   I must admit sometimes you feel like a dork carrying your tripod around taking photos…and in a department store…that makes us super dorks!  LOL   But after it is all said and done…and your pic is finished…its all worth it!   Just goes to show you…photographers will take pics anywhere!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 10.5 Fisheye f/2.8
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 10.5.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/2.8
  • Gear:  Tripod, Cable release
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Color Efex Pro, Viveza