Yosemite National Park (Infrared)

Here is another Infrared shot from Yosemite at a location called Tunnel View.   It seems that black & white and Yosemite go hand in hand.   Just a wonderful amount of tonal variance indeed…thanks Ansel Adams!    This is one magical place!!   I had no idea that IR snow scenes would be so perfect!   I must shoot more in this weather…but it will be tough as I live in Texas.   Not much snow in Austin.  I sure hope I can return to Yosemite in the late spring??  Just to dream….greenery and flowers along with such mountainous beauty  = one of mother nature’s top creations in the world!!  I was told that late May early June is the best time to visit Yosemite.

Since my return I have been reading up on this location.  Something I do often if I visit a spot for the first time and plan to return.  I found a cute little Photo Guide Book…. The Photographers Guide to Yosemite by Michael Frye…click on it to take you to the Amazon link.  Only $9.95.   I’ll also study more Ansel photos as well.  I try to compare what I took for the first run and see what I can do to improve my shots for the next time…or even scout other great locations.   I just love the endless possibilities photography can offer!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D70S (Converted to Infrared)
  • Infrared Conversion:  D70S modified by LifePixel
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 f/4
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 19.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:   1/100
  • Aperture:  f/22
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Silver Efex Pro
3 comments on “Yosemite National Park (Infrared)

  1. joeandrews says:

    Incredible shot and the IR treatment is perfect, looks fantastic! Very nice work..

    • Joe, thanks! I hope to get back in the spring to Yosemite and take more IR shots during a sunny day! It would be nice to compare both seasons in IR! Joe, you have a great blog! Feel free to post the link anytime! Pete

  2. [...] Yosemite National Park (Infrared) « Places 2 Explore [...]

Leave a Reply

