San Francisco, CA – Amazing Grace (HDR)

It is photos like this that make HDR a favorite of mine.  There are certain subject like interiors of Cathedrals/Churches that make HDR’s stand out.  I know there are HDR nay-sayers, but how can you dislike what HDR does to a scene like this?

Grace Cathedral is a lovely small Cathedral that sits above Nob Hill in San Francisco.  I had about an hour here and took quiet a few shots.  This one became an instant favorite of mine!   I took a few straight on fisheye’s and liked em, then this one popped out and the angle creates a wonderful feeling!  What is great about this Cathedral is that I had my tripod all over the place and not one person asked me not to use it!   So I snapped away!   I am not sure of the history of Cathedrals, but there are quite a few I have seen that look very similar from the outside.  Notre Dame, San Fernando, Grace Cathedral and I am sure many more!   I’ll post this outside view soon!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 f/4
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 13.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/11
  • Gear:  Tripod, Cable release
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Color Efex Pro, Viveza