San Francisco, CA – Across the Bay in HDR

San Francisco….I can probably post a pic a day from here!   This is from the week past during my stay in SF.    My buddy Horace Kwan (HoraceKwanPhotography) took me to this great spot to photograph the Golden Gate Bridge Bridge…if you are on the city side of the bridge as you look across to the bridge it is on the lower right.  At this time of year, sunset shots are perfect from here.  There is a marina located right behind me on this shot and a small jetty sticks out so you can walk a bit and get a few different shots.    Right at the base of the jetty are these great rocks.  As soon as we arrived, I saw this wonderful view!

A few minutes later after taking this shot a Marine Biologist from a local institute was taking photo from above that rock formation of some porpoises swimming near our location.    We talked to him a bit afterwards.   We missed seeing the porpoises, but did happen to see a seal swimming around looking for dinner.

This location would also be a great spot for a sunrise city view shot.  Wish I had the 70-200mm lens with me!   Maybe next time!  If you have been or will be heading to SF soon, there are great spots on all sides of the bridge that will give you wonderful GGB photos.   Try em all!  I’ll post one from here soon of the GGB!   Enjoy!

Talke Photography Settings:

  • Camera:  Nikon D300
  • Lens: Nikon 18-200 f/3.5-5.6
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 24.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:  HDR 5 exposures (+2 to -2)
  • Aperture:  f/22
  • Gear:  Tripod, Cable release
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Photomatix, Color Efex Pro, Vivieza