Yosemite National Park (Infrared)

…continued from the last post.  So on the our we were in the park from about 11:30 Am until about 5 PM.  Overall we had about 6-8 stops and I must admit getting in and out of the van all day and grabbing a few shots at each stop, whew, it makes ya tired!   I knew the drive home would be a quiet one for us all.   Extranomical was a fantastic tour.   For a days trip there and back from San Francisco, tough to beat!   I took mostly HDR shots and IR shots.  I estimate about  100 or so HDR’s and about 100 IR shots.    I think with each photo a nice story can be told (call it a a pictory?  …lol) , so in time I will get to many pictories in futures posts.

For this shot, we drove to a spot overlooking Yosemite Falls in the distance.  Right before the parking area was this bridge.  On each side of the bridge was a wonderful view!   I took this in HDR and IR.   In regards, to IR, I had never shot and IR photo in snow.  I was very curious as to how it would turn out?  Would the snow look bad…turn blue or red?    Most IR photos look great in black & white.  And who is the most famous photographer Yosemite photographer – Ansel Adams.   His black and white photos from Yosemite are tops in the world.  He is famous for setting up the Zone System  for tonal variance in a photo.   Its nice to see a comparison with an IR photo.   Kinda cool!  The pines look solid in IR and the tones are not too bad even with snow.    Thanks to NIK Software Silver Efex Pro…Ansel would be jealous!

It actually was a nice day in Yosemite.  A bit overcast, but the winds were calm and the temperature was about 35 degrees.  Just a bit above freezing.   Snow was melting a bit, but with no sun, it was a slower process.   Just occasionally you had to dodge a falling bunch of snow from a tree above!  I guess there was about 10-15 inches of fresh snow.   I had sneakers on….so I had to try an avoid the ole wet sock effect when walking in snow.  I luckily survived with no problem.  I’ll get up another post in next week.    Enjoy!

  • Camera:  Nikon D70S (Converted to Infrared)
  • Infrared Conversion:  D70S modified by LifePixel
  • Lens: Nikon 12-24 f/4
  • Setting: Aperture  Mode
  • Focal Length: 14.0mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Exposure:   1/50
  • Aperture:  f/22
  • Gear:  Tripod
  • Post Process: Adobe CS4, Silver Efex Pro
8 comments on “Yosemite National Park (Infrared)

  1. Dave Wilson says:

    Another lovely landscape, Pete. I’m looking forward to playing with IR next week in Bryce & Zion. I’ve borrowed an IR-converted Canon G9 to take along. If I manage to capture anything like some of your shots, I’ll be delighted!

    • Dave, I am jealous!!!! One day I will get there! Have fun with the IR! You will love it! Don’t be afraid to take shots of anything….dark situation or light. IR shots need photoshop…so shoot away! Try for clouds, water, and trees!!! Can’t wait to see your shots!! You will want an IR camera after this trip!!! =) Pete

  2. aswirly says:

    I love it. The infrared looks great ;)

  3. Wonderful new perspective on this often photographed valley. I like it!

  4. You have some amazing work on this site and I just wanted to say that I’m impressed with what I’ve seen. I spent a whilechecking out your articles and site – fantastic work! If you get a chance stop by my gallery at http://www.ducktrapphoto.com

Leave a Reply

